Read, Enjoy, comment!

Rating: PG-13


2. Repetition

“Ten minutes, Jane.” Maura walked passed her and took a seat on the couch. Joe Friday came bounding out the back and landed straight on Maura’s lap.

Lucky Bitch, Jane thought.

“More than enough time.” Jane sat down then thought better of it. “Can I get you something, wine maybe?”

“No, thank you. You can just get started. What did you want to talk about?”

Jane sat back. “Okay. Maura, I’m sorry.”

“You’ve already said that. Several times.”

Jane’s jaw clenched violently. Anyone else she’d ask why they were being such a bitch. With Maura, however, it was a statement of fact. It was staggering how much Jane allowed Maura to get away with.

“I know I’ve said that a lot, but that’s been in hopes of you hearing me. Or at the very least understanding how much I mean it.”

“Repetition does not necessarily connote sincerity, Jane.”

“Not necessarily, but it can. If not then I’m the walking definition of insanity.”

Maura smiled. “Doing the same thing over and over expecting a different outcome.”

“Please prove me sane, Maura.”

“It’s not that simple. You hurt me.”

“You think I don’t know that? Hell, I hurt myself. I never meant for any of that—this to happen. My main concern is your safety, always. You should know that by now.”

Maura almost looked guilty for a moment. “I know you meant to protect me Jane, but an innocent man was severely injured in the process. And to bring Dean—”

“No! I didn’t bring him. He was not supposed to be there. And to call Doyle innocent is a stretch and you know it.”

“Okay fine. But how did Dean know where to go?”

Jane hesitated. “He followed me…from here.”

Maura squinted in thought. “So you two were having sex, then you decided it was time to protect me and he followed you? I hope it was worth it.” Her voice was heavy laden with accusation.

“It wasn’t actually and it didn’t exactly go that way. I may have given him a heads up about your relationship with Doyle.”

“You did what?” Maura shot to her feet.

Joe Friday took this time to make her exit.

“Why would you do that, Jane? You put us all at risk, yourself included.”

Jane rose to her feet as well. “It was a precaution. I knew he was aware of Doyle resurfacing and I needed to know someone could look after you in case I couldn’t.”

“In case you couldn’t? Jane, when have you ever been unable to protect me?”

She threw her hands up in the air. “Oh, I don’t know, with Hoyt maybe? Or every single time Doyle comes around. He’s kidnapped you, held you hostage…I’m never there to stop him. After what happened with your mother I wasn’t going to take that chance. Period.”

While Jane flushed Maura regained most of her color.

“That’s very noble, Jane, but it wasn’t your place.”

“That’s where you’re wrong.” She stepped closer to Maura, it was the closest they’d been in weeks. “I will always do what’s necessary to keep you safe. Its literally my job.”

“And now my father is in ICU because of it. It’s your job to protect him too, especially when you both think it so important to protect me. I swear you two are just alike.”

Jane felt like she’d been slapped. “So what now?” She needed to push ahead. Semantics wouldn’t quell her almost biological imperative to be with Maura again.

“I don’t know, Jane. I just need time to think.”

“Take as long as you need, but tell me you know that I care for you. Tell me you know I’d do it all over again if it meant keeping you from harm.”

“I do know that. That’s the problem.”

When the door shut again Joe Friday ran straight for Jane and got busy laying on the love.

