Read, Enjoy, Comment

Rating: PG


4. Mothers Know Best

“Jane, thank you for helping me get home. I don’t know what we’d have done without you.”

She simply smiled. “No thanks needed.”

“Hey, I move dead bodies around for a living,” Maura protested though Jane could see she was pleased that Constance called her place home.

“Of course you do, excuse me.” She sent Jane a wink.

Angela was all a flutter when they arrived inside. She would have to remind her mother that Constance was a much calmer person than she was accustomed to and would require peace and, more importantly, quite from time to time.

“Welcome home,” Angela bellowed. “I made my famous gnocchi and don’t worry I checked with Maura and your doctor said you’re fine to eat it so long as you get plenty of greens.

Constance smiled. “Angela you didn’t have to go to such trouble.”

Jane wheeled Constance to the table

“What trouble? I’m here and had to cook for the girls anyway. You should see how they eat when I’m not around.”

Again Maura frowned. “Hey! I eat a balanced and nutritious meal when left to my own devises. It’s Rizzoli here that forces food that’s high in fat and cholesterol down my throat.

“Down your throat, really?” I don’t recall having to force that calzone down your throat last week and the éclair after was your idea.”

“Okay,” Maura blanched. “That may be true, but I would have never even gone to that restaurant had you not taken me.”

Jane just rolled her eyes, but didn’t miss the look that passed between Angela and Constance. She’d find out about that later.

“Okay enough of the blame game, wash up and sit down.” Angela ordered. “Frankie!”

“I’m right here, ma. Why the yelling?”

“Sorry I thought you were out back. Wash up and come eat.”

He stood behind Jane and Maura waiting for a turn at the sink.

“That’s not hygienic, Jane,” Maura informed around a laugh. Every time she rinsed Jane would put her soapy hands over her own.

“What hygienic, I’m trying to wash up here.”

“So am I. Jane!” Maura squealed as soap covered her forearm.

“Girls!” Angela warned.

“Sorry, Ma.”

“Sorry, Angela,” they said in unison.

“I’ll use the guest bathroom. Foods gonna be cold waiting for you two,” Franking grumbled as he went in search of other facilities.

“Okay, now that we’re all here again, finally, would anyone mind if I said a quick prayer of thanks?’ Angela looked only to Constance.

“Please, that’s a wonderful idea.”

“Great,” She waited for everyone to join hands and bow their heads. “Dear Lord, thank you for this food we are about to receive and thank you for watching over Constance and bringing her home safe and sound. I’d also like to thank you for keeping our girls safe and bringing them back together…”

Back together, Jane thought. She was truly thankful for that too, though she had failed to express her thanks to the man upstairs.

Again she didn’t know how it happened or why, but one day those coffee and lunch runs were no longer necessary because Maura had already done them. Updates and reports didn’t need to be fetched because Maura had them either waiting for her or would call.

It’d been so long that Jane felt like she was in the twilight zone. She’d spent so much time and effort getting Maura back in her life that once she was there Jane felt bereft, almost incomplete. Suddenly hours of her day just opened up and she had no idea what to do with them.

“Jane, hi.”

She looked away from the computer screen she’d been staring at. “Hi.”

“Do you think we could talk tonight? How about dinner? My treat.”

Jane was gob smacked. She glanced at Frost who gave her a winning smile and two thumbs up.

“Sure.”

“Good. I’ll meet you in the garage.” The smile Maura rewarded Jane with made her heart stutter and the weeks of silence all disappear.

The talk had been rather typical and one they’d had many times before. It seemed they traded injury often. The conversation was heavy laden with, “I was wrong. I was too hard on you, you mean so much to me, I know you would never hurt me,” and to Jane’s utter surprise, “I apologize for comparing you to Doyle, even he thinks that’s a stretch.”

All Jane could do was smile and accept because what she realized was indeed still true, she needed Maura and to her utter delight Maura needed her too. Nothing else much mattered.

Midway thought dinner Jane’s phone rang closely followed by Maura’s

“Rizzoli.”

“Isles.”

“Be there in twenty.”

“I’m on my way.”

Angela sighed heavily. “Can we ever get through a meal?”

“Ma, don’t start.”

“I agree,” Constance spoke up. “I’m just out of the hospital, Maura.”

“I’m sorry, mother. I can’t control when the citizens of Boston decide to harm each other.”

“Uncanny how its usually during dinner time,” Angela said to Constance.

“Let’s take my car so I can change.” Jane grabbed her jacket.

“Fine, but I’m driving,” Maura insisted.

“Come on Maura!”

“No, Jane. Driving while changing is not safe.”

Frankie rose from his seat. “I better go too. I’ll drive, okay. Everyone’s happy.”

“Awww, bro,” Jane teased.

“He’s such a big, strong, take charge kind of guy,” Maura chimed in.

“You too Maura? Geez, its bad enough…”

The clan filtered out leaving the mothers in silence.

“Do you think those two will ever get it?” Angela didn’t look up from her plate.

“I honestly don’t think they have a clue. Its rather adorable actually.”

“Sure, but still how long…”

“I know.

“It doesn’t bother you?”

“I guess almost dying puts things in a different perspective because a few weeks I probably wouldn’t feel this way but…no not really? Besides Jane shoots people for my Maura, hard to not be okay with that.”

“Maura is a doll, I don’t think Janie could do better.”

A silence hung between them with nothing but the sound of cutlery on china to break it.

“We can’t meddle though,” Constance finally said.

Angela did look at her now.

“Well I supposed a little nudge wouldn’t hurt?” Constance amended.

Angela smiled and finished her meal.

 

