Read, enjoy, comment!

Rating: PG-13
_________________________________________

Chapter Six

Spencer found she had a lot of fun with Michael on their second date. Michael introduced her to a lot of new people on campus. It was easy to just be herself when she was around Michael. She kept things simple. But as much as Spencer liked being with Michael she felt…unsatisfied. There was no spark with Michael. No magnetism. Spencer tried to think of her in the most sexual ways possible, but even her thoughts didn’t get very far.

After about a week it was just assumed that they were dating. Everyone around them easily became accustomed to the pair. If you saw Michael you saw Spencer and vice versa.

Despite her relationship woes, the first big meet of the season was three days away and Spencer was amped. She missed competing. Well competing against people not on her own team. She was finding it increasingly easy to beat the girls she swam against at practice. Well…everyone but Ashley that is. She vowed, however, that given another opportunity she’d destroy her.

“It’s going to feel so good to race again,” Spencer informed Michael as they lay comfortably across her bed.

“I know what you mean. I hate off season.”

“Me too. I think we’re going to kill Michigan tomorrow.”

“I don’t know,” Michael hedged. “They have a really good team. They beat us during exhibition last season.”

“That’s because you didn’t have me.”

“Is that so miss cocky?”

Spencer nodded and smiled.

Michael pushed a stray strand of hair behind Spencer’s ear before leaning in for a kiss. Without thinking Spencer turned away at the last moment. Michael’s lips landed flush against her cheek.

“Spencer, what’s wrong?”

Spencer nodded. “Nothing…I just…I don’t know.”

Michael pushed herself into a seated position. “I like you, a lot. I thought you liked me too.”

“I do like you Mike, you know that. It’s just, I’m not ready I guess.”

Michael sighed heavily. After about two weeks of going out they were still just kissing and even that was a rare occurrence. Michael couldn’t figure Spencer out. One minute they were so close and affectionate with each other. The next minute Spencer was distant and standoffish.

“It’s okay, Spence. I understand. Look I’m just going to head back to my room…study or something.”

“You don’t have to go.”

“Yes I do. It’s getting really hard to control myself when we’re alone like this. So if you’re not ready I should go now before I say or do something I’ll regret.”

“I’m sorry, Mike.”

“It’s alright. Like I said, I understand.” Michael stood and gave Spencer a peck on the cheek. “Night.”

Spencer sat in silence long after Michael departed. She mentally chastised herself for the way she had been treating what could easily become her girlfriend. While Michael was warm, sweet, very attractive, smart, and fun to be around Spencer still couldn’t think of her as more than just a friend. She hated herself for it.

Her eyes found the sole source of light remaining in the room. The clock revealed that it was just passed midnight.

Still early

Spencer pinpointed Ashley’s room in the darkness. The lights weren’t on. They hadn’t been all night.

Probably out with some bimbo getting laid, Spencer mused. Would be nice, but you kicked out the one person who actually wanted you, genius.

Spencer shook her head. Wide awake and sexually frustrated she grabbed her bag and headed out the door.

Moments later she arrived at the practice pool. It was open to all the students during certain hours, but the swimming team had access twenty fours hours. After a quick change Spencer pushed through the glass doors to find someone else had the same idea.

A small frame was tearing through the water at a rapid pace with textbook worthy form. The exchange off the far wall was flawless before another quick return. After the lap was finished the body came to a standstill and a small head bobbled to the surface with a scream.

“Jesus Spencer you scared me!”

“I’m sorry.” Ashley’s shriek of horror was enough to scare her too. “I didn’t mean to.”

Ashley effortlessly pulled herself from the pool. Spencer watched as the water cascaded down her body. She wasn’t wearing the suit that they all were required to wear during practice, but rather sported a blue two-piece bikini that exposed all the parts of Ashley that Spencer secretly wondered about. Well not all the parts, but a good many of them.

“What are you doing here this late anyway?” Ashley grabbed a towel and set about drying herself.

“Couldn’t sleep.”

Spencer pulled her eyes from Ashley’s body and prepared herself for a swim, anything to keep from further embarrassment.

“Yeah, me neither.”

“Do you come here often after hours.”

“If I’m not eating, sleeping or getting laid, I’m here. The time rarely factors in. You know?”

Spencer nodded. “What about studying?”

“I find if I get that whole getting laid part right, the homework just ends up done.”

“You’re disgusting you know that?” Spencer grimaced.

Ashley shrugged her shoulders as her swimming cap came off with a pop. “I’ve heard worse.” Her grin was smug.

“Is it like a mission of yours to give me a hard time?”

“What’s with the twenty-one questions?”

“Does that mean you’re not going to answer me?”

Ashley scowled. “You’re the new girl. Consider it…initiation.”

“Well how long is it going to last? Frankly it’s getting old.”

Ashley paused in thought. “I think until the next new girl gets here is fair.”

“What?”

Spencer’s face was the picture of horror. With the season about to kick off the chances of a new team member joining were slim. That meant she’d have to deal with Ashley’s bad attitude for a year. With the way the team looked up to her that meant she’d have to deal with this crap from just about everyone for that long as well.

Ashley began to laugh. “You going in or what?”

Spencer was momentarily taken aback by the cheer joy and beauty in the look and sound of Ashley’s laughter. It was enough for her to forget her previous frustration.

“That’s why I’m here. What about you, going back in?”

“Nah, I’m done for tonight and I don’t want to intimidate you during your down time.”

“I think you’re just afraid to be alone with me while I’m all wet.” Shit.

Spencer couldn’t believe she let that fly out her mouth. She was thinking it, but saying it was never a part of the plan.

If Ashley was surprised by her words she didn’t let on.

“You might be right.” She gave Spencer an appreciative glance. “But I’m going to go before you sic Michael on me. Enjoy.”

Ashley paused at the glass doors. “Oh and scrub?”

Spencer rolled her eyes at the regrettably familiar moniker. “What?”

“Stay out of my lane.”

Spencer smiled as she dove into lane nine and began to blow off some steam.

