Read, enjoy, comment!

Rating: R
________________________________________

Chapter 18

Almost two weeks had gone by since Spencer and Ashley hung out. They spoke to each other during practice, but that was limited to swim talk. They kept winning their meets and both seemed well on their way to getting invites to the All-Star meet.

Michael noticed the change in both of their behavior. No longer were there obvious signs of their budding friendship. While Spencer was her usual personable self, those niceties no long extended to Davis and that gave Mike hope in regard to the bet.

Ashley tried to call off the bet, attempting to appeal to Mike’s sense of decency.

“Mike, this is stupid. We should just call it off.”

“You scared, Davies?”

Ashley rolled her eyes. “Of course not, but that’s not the point.”

“Well what is the point? Because the way I see it, this is my chance to finally put you in your place.”

“She’s your girlfriend! How can you just bet on her like this?”

“Easy, to show you up, it’s a no brainer.”

“What if I say I’ll tell her, about everything?”

Michael looked smug. “Go ahead. But if you do you’ll be in the same position as I will. Spencer will think you only became her friend to sleep with her. And the chances of her forgiving me are far better than her forgiving you.”

She had a point there. Michael was Spencer’s girlfriend. Spencer would be mad, but she’d get over it eventually, especially with Michael’s impeccable lying abilities. Ashley on the other hand had no such ties to Spencer. No previous relationship to weigh her current indiscretion against, so chances were Spencer would never believe anything Ashley said from that point on.

So now Ashley was stuck. She was in a bet she hated and now felt she might lose, and she had feelings for her ex-girlfriend slash arch nemesis’ girlfriend.

Spencer was no better off. Try as she might she couldn’t be intimate with Michael. Yet every time she was going to break up with her Mike would do something ridiculously sweet or thoughtful, like when she bought her a gold heart pendant for their one month anniversary. After that Spencer knew she couldn’t leave Mike. She just didn’t have reason to.

Feeling utterly frustrated she opted to do her usual to blow off steam. Forgoing the locker room, she stripped her shorts and t-shirt revealing the two-piece underneath. In seconds she was off doing laps. That comforting burn set in around lap twenty causing her to forget her current predicament. It wasn’t until return lap twenty-one that she noticed a pair of legs dangling in the adjacent lane.

“It must be really bad.”

Spencer gave Ashley a wary glance. “What makes you say that?”

“I’ve been here for the past give laps, you didn’t even notice me.”

“Sorry, I guess I was distracted.”

“It’s cool,” Ashley shrugged. “You haven’t noticed me in a week and a half now,” she said with practiced nonchalance.

“Yes, I most certainly have. And you haven’t been much better.”

Ashley slipped into the water. “Well I was respecting your wishes. Not like you cared.”

“I cared,” Spencer defended. “It’s just…I don’t know. We talked about this.”

Ashley just nodded and the pair fell into silence. The easy and comfortable conversation they usually fell into seemed to be eluding them today.

“Alright, well I guess I’ll start my laps.”

“I’ve missed you,” Spencer blurted before she could really think twice about it. Ashley kept her so flustered at times that her heart would blurt out things before her head could stop them. Not always a bad thing, but it caused her words to sound rushed or hurried. It made her blush red hot.

“Really?”

“Yeah. A lot actually.”

Ashley smiled. “I’ve missed you too.”

Spencer smiled.

“Race ya!” Ashley shouted suddenly.

Without another word the two took off. It wasn’t until Ashley beat Spencer three consecutive times that they decided to call it quits.

“I can’t believe after all this time I still can’t beat you.”

“Keep trying, kid,” Ashley said with smug pride. “You might one day.”

They spent some time laughing and talking and just getting to know each other again. Competition always seemed to make them fall back into a groove with one another.

“You’re so full of it,” Spencer accused.

“I’m serious.”

“I still don’t believe you.”

“Fine,” Ashley relented. “I usually only do this for the girls I’m sleeping with, but for you I’ll make an exception.”

“What are you talking about?”

“Come over.”

“Over where?”

“To my lane,” she pointed out obviously.

“To the infamous lane ten? Pass.”

“Well you don’t believe me that it feels better over here than in the other lanes, so come feel for yourself.”

“Ash, it can’t feel any different over there then it does over here. It’s water it all comes from the same place. And like moves and stuff. I’m not stupid.”

“You know, Carlin, you’re turning into a real whiner. Now I said something, you don’t believe me, how ‘bout you pony up and see for yourself.”

Ashley gave Spencer a pout that she could never in a million years resist. “Fine.” She swam under the divider and into Ashley’s lucky lane. “Okay, I’m here. It doesn’t feel any better here than it does in lane nine, or seven, or three.”

“You’re totally lying!”

“I’m totally not!”

Ashley swam behind Spencer and put her hands on her hips. Leaning her head on her shoulder, she began to speak in barely a whisper. “Close your eyes.”

“Why?”

“Please?”

“Okay, they’re closed.”

Ashley pressed her body flush against Spencer’s back as the pair bobbed in the water. Ashley whispered in her ear her hands never leaving her hips. “Now, you feel that?”

Spencer nodded. She didn’t know what it was she was feeling, but she was definitely feeling something.

“How does it feel?”

Spencer turned around in Ashley’s grip, opening her eyes. “So good.”

Ashley tried to control herself as she watched moist, pink lips part to answer her, but she was powerless. Before either of them knew it their lips were pressed together. Spencer felt Ashley’s nails dig into her sides as she parted her lips and sucked her bottom lip between her teeth. Ashley didn’t even notice that she was backing them into the corner of the lane. They reached a fevered pitch as hands roamed freely over each other’s slick bodies. Ashley quickly regained her bearings as she spun them around so Spencer’s back was now to the corner of the lane. Hot tongues began to tangle and roam. Spencer grabbed the back of Ashley’s neck pulling her even closer than before. Ashley moaned at the feeling of wanton desire flowing from Spencer. She wanted her, very badly and it was clear Spencer felt the same way. That thought alone was causing her senses to become clouded. Lost in a haze of lust she threw caution to the wind. She ran her hands along Spencer’s back loving the sounds she received in response. She lost her hold on Spencer’s lips to place kisses and nips on her neck.

Spencer lost her hands in brown locks loving the sensations coursing through her body. Any fear of cheating was thrown out. At this point she didn’t care. It was time to get what she really wanted and worry about the consequences later. Much later. Ashley continued to assault Spencer’s neck as she pressed her thigh into her center. Spencer let out a small groan that only ignited Ashley’s fire all the more. She brought her hands to the back of Spencer’s bikini top to untie it. Once the knot was undone she was eager to reveal the prize she had so desperately wanted. The thought of her personal prize brought thoughts of the bet to the fore of her mind as well.

Ashley pulled back suddenly.

“You don’t have to stop,” Spencer panted.

“Yes…yes I do.”

“What’s wrong? Is this about Michael?”

“Yes, no…” Ashley paused. “It’s about me.”

“I want to be with you.”

“I know…and I want to be with you, but not like this. Not here.”

Spencer shook her head. “I don’t understand.”

“I sorry, Spencer. I just can’t right now. I have to go.” Ashley released her hold on Spencer pulling herself from the pool.

“Wait, Ash, let’s talk about this,” Spencer pleaded.

Ashley disappeared into the locker room before Spencer could get another word in. Spencer was more confused than ever about what is was that Ashley really wanted. It only made her wonder what she should do from this point on.

