Read, enjoy, comment.

_________________________________________

Chapter Six

“You son of a bitch!”

Dyson smiled across his desk at Hale. “Just like old times.”

“You so don’t want to screw with me right now.”

“I’m sorry.” He leaned back in his seat. “What seems to be the problem?”

Bo leaned down bringing herself even with the detective. “Is there some stolen property you recently got back into your possession that you want to tell me about?”

He immediately looked to Kenzi.

“Don’t look at her. This is your responsibility, not hers.”

“You’re right.”

Hale pulled Kenzi to the side.

“What’s up with your girl?”

“Animal control issues.”

He smiled in return. This was nothing new.

“I know I’m right!” Bo bellowed. “You get your love back and you don’t pay me the courtesy of giving me a heads up before you sleep with me?”

Dyson’s eyes scanned the faces of the cops in their vicinity. “Can we please speak about this in private?”

“Interrogation two is open,” Hale offered helpfully.

Bo stormed passed him, Dyson close on her heels.

“She’s pissed.”

“You have no idea.” Kenzi rolled her eyes as she went to go listen in.

Hale smiled as he followed behind.

“Bo, let me explain,” Dyson began immediately before she could start in on him.

“Yes, please tell me when you got your love back. And when the hell were you going to tell me?”

“Right before we went into battle with the Garuda. Kenzi helped me get it back. I lost it in…not the best way and really wasn’t the same without it.”

“Well I can’t argue that point. You becoming whole again can’t be a bad thing. Why didn’t you just tell me? Especially before you were binded to me and certainly before you offered your…services to help. Twice!”

“I really was trying to help you, Bo. You can never have too much strength when battling anyone, let alone the Garuda. And believe it or not, I really did want to help you feel better about Lauren.”

“Better so you could take her spot,” she accused.

“No, that’s not it. If anything it was because I felt bad about what I said to Lauren.”

Bo paused. “What did you say to Lauren?”

Dyson drained of all his color.

“Dyson?”

“I was in a strange place after getting restored and we were fresh from the battle.”

“Dyson!” Bo slammed her hands on the table impatiently.

“I suggested to her that in this time of confusion for the light fae, maybe she shouldn’t let a good opportunity pass her by.”

Raising a single eyebrow, Bo waited until she heard everything he had to say. “What opportunity would that be exactly?”

“Getting out of town.”

Bo could feel her anger rising and there was nothing she could do about it. Her skin tingled and her eyes burned.

Dyson watched in horror as her eyes transformed from brown to blue then to an electric shade of the latter, pupils dilated to the size of dimes. He knew from experiences that the next color, red, was the last thing he wanted to see.

“You have to eat Oreo’s with milk, Hale. Anything else should be illegal. Could we like get that law passed? Because—wait a minute. Are you ankles feeling drafty?”

Hale looked at her quizzically. “My ankles?” He paused. “My ankles are a little cool.”

Kenzi looked through the interrogation room door the pair having fell into conversation after growing bored of eavesdropping on their friends. “Crap. Open the door, Hale, now!”

The two spilled into the room as Bo began lifting Dyson off his feet by his neck.

“Bo, put him down! You don’t want to do this.”

Hale went around the room closing the blinds. It was hard to explain a super powerful succubus lifting a detective off the floor.

“I should rip you apart for this!”

“Bo, please, don’t do this,” Dyson said calmly.

“He’s right, you’re not thinking clearly,” Hale added.

Kenzi crept to Bo’s side speaking gently. “Bo, put him down. He made a mistake. You don’t want to do anything stupid.”

She waited a few moments getting no response from the irate succubus.

“Kenzi,” Dyson croaked as Bo’s grip tightened. “Hurry.”

Feeling desperate, Kenzi did the only thing she could think to do. “Bo!” She shook her shoulder vigorously hoping to jolt her back to reality.

Dyson fell to the floor gasping for air as Bo turned her eyes to Kenzi.

“It’s me, Bo. It’s okay.”

Blinking several times the electric blue blaze of her eyes slowly returned to brown. “Kenzi?”

“Yes. Oh, thank all the Gods! It’s me.”

Bo shook her head trying to clear it of the blind rage.

“Are you okay?” Kenzi asked with concern.

“Yeah, I think I’m okay.”

Hale helped Dyson to his feet.

“I will never forgive you for this, Dyson. Lauren is out there scared and alone because you chased her off. If anything happens to her…” Her eyes began to glow dangerously.

Kenzi gave her a warning nudge happy when the glow went out.

“Bo, let me help you find her,” Dyson tried.

“No! You’ve helped enough.”

Bo stormed passed the two detectives.

“Where are we going?” Kenzi asked as she hurried behind the succubus trying to ignore the confused stares of the officers.

“To go find my girl.”

_________________________________________

Don’t forget to rate my posts at the top of the page!

