It’s been forever, I know and apologize. If it helps, I was working on my first screen play. I am that one step closer to getting RUSH on the big screen. That’s something right? Eh…

Read, enjoy, comment!


Chapter 13: Kick, Push, Coast
PG-13


A feeling I tend to experience very little these day is surprise. True and utter unexpected surprise. I am, however, learning that enjoying it through the eyes of someone else is just as good.

~

“Sears tower?” Spencer asked.

“Yep.”

“What are we going to do here?”

“You ask a lot of questions,” Ashley smiled.

“I’m naturally inquisitive.”

Ashley just nodded and smiled as they ascended the seemingly endless number of floors.

“Okay, you’re going to have to close your eyes from here.”

“Why?”

“Just…because you have to. Please?” She added when Spencer all but pouted.

“I so can’t say no when you ask so nicely.”

Ashley held Spencer’s hand as she led her through the doors. When they made it to the center of the room she gave Spencer the all clear.

“Open your eyes.”

It took Spencer several seconds to take in the grand sight. They were on the observatory deck of the Sears tower. Somehow Ashley was able to ensure they were totally alone. They were completely surrounded by windows looking out onto all of Chicago. The lights of the city sparkled brightly in contrast to the dimly lit room. An intimate table alight with candles sat proudly in the middle of the room.

“Oh, Ash,” Spencer breathed.

Ashley smiled like a school girl as she watched the genuinely excited look on Spencer’s face.

“Well you certainly have outdone yourself.”

It was all Ashley could do to not pump her fist in the air and scream, “success!”

“I hope you’re hungry because we’re having dinner.”

“Starved.”

“Excellent.” Ashley pulled out a chair. “Madam.”

“Why thank you.”

When they were both seated a gentleman in tuxedo greeted them.

“Good evening, Ms. Davies, Ms. Carlin. We have a lovely bottle of champagne chilling, shall I bring it out?”

“Yes, please,” Ashley replied after receiving a nod from Spencer.

“Very well. Dinner will be served shortly.”

“Ash, this is too much. This must have cost you a fortune.”

“In the scheme of things lets just say that this is hardly a drop in the bucket,” Ashley replied offhandedly. “Is there something wrong?” She asked when Spencer’s mood seemed to shift.

“No…well…”

“You can tell me.”

“It’s just…I don’t want you to think I’m friends with you for your money. I don’t want anything from you, Ashley. I just want…well…I just want you.”

Spencer eyes found Ashley’s. She wanted Ashley, yes, but they were friends first if nothing else. Spencer needed Ashley to know that she would care about her whether she was wealthy or not.

“I’m starting to believe that. I appreciate you telling me,” Ashley revealed shyly.

Ashley was floored by the idea of someone genuinely caring for her. Not even her own mother cared so deeply. Kyla and Aiden had been the only ones in her life to never want a single thing from her, but her career kept her from enjoying their affection as often as she liked.

“Well good.”

“Let’s not forget though that we’re here to celebrate!” She raised her champagne glass. “To you and your blossoming career. You deserve every drop of success you achieve.”

Spencer tilted her head to the side and smiled. “Cheers.”

“We drink a lot of champagne,” Spencer noted.

“Hm, I guess we do. Too much?”

“Not at all,” Spencer laughed. “I’m not complaining, simply noting. One day I’m eating tuna out the can to make ends meet and the next I’m employed by a hot rock star.”

Spencer blushed at her omission making Ashley smile.

“I know what you mean. It’s amazing how much your life can change in a moment.”

Spencer looked at Ashley with uncertainty in her eyes. “For the better?”

“Definitely.”

Dinner passed in a blur. They were lost in a decidedly romantic haze that consisted of details of their lives and little private secrets. It was a rare opportunity for them to be blissfully alone and they were eager to capitalize on it.

“Oh, I love this song,” Ashley smiled as their plates were cleared from the table.

Spencer listened intently. “R&B? I never took you for an R&B kind of girl.”

“I’m a musician. I listen to everything.”

Spencer nodded. Of course Ashley listened to everything. She was learning that there was little that Ashley couldn’t or wouldn’t do.

“I don’t want to overstep my boundaries or anything, but do you maybe want to…Well it’d be nice if—”

“I’d love to dance, Ashley.”

The two slid out from the table coming together in the ample space the observation deck provided. They began awkwardly, Ashley unsure of where exactly it was appropriate to touch, but soon her hands found their way to Spencer’s hips. Spencer followed her lead, her arms coming around Ashley’s neck.

They unconsciously slid closer as the lyrics of the song washed over them and they swayed to and fro. Their bodies were flush, each point of contact shooting electricity straight to places they couldn’t afford to entertain at the moment.

The song ended and they stared into each other’s eyes. There were no interruptions, no prying eyes and no rush. Just two people forming a connection for the first time.

“Spence?”

“Hm,” Spencer asked absently, still lost in brown haze.

“As much as I’d love to stay here with you like this, we better go before I do something that’s not so friendly.”

Ashley words finally registered for Spencer and she nodded agreement before reluctantly pulling away. The air between them became strained, the sexual tension mixing with their respective consciousness making a rather unpleasant combination. Spencer knew Ashley was right but she hated the fact that she was so level headed.

“I’m sorry.” Spencer could not making eye contact with Ashley, not when her body was thrumming with desire.

“Hey. Look at me.” Ashley waited for Spencer’s gaze met her own. “Don’t be sorry. It’s okay.” She smiled effectively easing the tension.

Spencer refused to allow herself to become a cheater and/or liar. While that fact infuriated Ashley to the point of painfulness, she couldn’t help but respect that about Spencer. It also served to make Spencer that much more attractive to her.

“So is this amazing night really over?” Spencer asked.

“No, actually.”

Spencer looked at her questioningly.

“You up for a party?”

“Always.”

“Follow me, beautiful. This night I far from over.” Ashley turned toward the elevator with Spencer right on her heels.

~

Thirty minutes later they were pulling up in front of a massive mansion. It looked like there was a car dealership parked out front. Everything from Lamborghinis, to Bentley’s to Mercedes were parked out front. Not to mention the SUVs and stretch limos.

“Is this a car show?” Spencer asked as they made their way to the door.

Ashley only laughed as she strode confidently inside not bothering with the bell. It was clear by the pounding music that could be heard outside that no one would be answering any time soon.

They walked in and took a second to survey their surroundings. There were people occupying seemingly every inch of the palatial mansion.

Spencer grabbed Ashley’s hand choosing to say a close as possible as the rock star began to make her rounds. Greeting those she knew and turning away from the few groupies that had managed to slip in, Spencer was in awe of Ashley in celebrity mode. This was different from Ashley around fans, now she was with people like her, her equals and it made her appear in a different light. Spencer didn’t find it unappealing, actually it intrigued her how well Ashley could adapt to any surrounding.

Spencer gasped as she looked around and noticed exactly who was in attendance of the party. She saw members of all her favorite bands, rock stars, pop stars, rappers and other industry people. She paused in her tracks when a young man passed giving her a smile and appraising glance.

“I think I just saw Justin Timberlake,” Spencer whispered in Ashley’s ear when the rocker turned questioning eyes in her direction.

“Probably.

Spencer was floored to be sharing the same space with some of the biggest stars on the planet while Ashley appeared to be totally unaffected. She was simply greeting friends of hers. They stopped mingling when they heard Ashley’s name being called, or a variation of it rather.

“Ashy!”

“Eli!” Ashley gushed as she wrapped a blonde young man in an eager hug.

“I’m glad you could make it. Been here long?”

“Not really.”

“Awesome. Who’s your friend?”

Ashley looked down to her hand that was still firmly clasped within Spencer’s. “Eli this is Spencer. She’s my new make-up artiest. Spencer this is Eli, he plays base for Excursion.”

Spencer extended her hand, which he refused instead going in for a hug. “I love your band.”

“Good taste in music.” He turned back to Ashley. “Well done, Ashy.”

“It’s not like that,” Ashley said with a laugh.

“Right. Neither was Angel.” He draped his long arms over each of their shoulders and walking them to another part of the house.

Ashley rolled her eyes at the sound of the name if she stopped to really think about it she’d realize that she was annoyed by it rather than saddened.

“Keg stand!” Someone yelled from the kitchen.

“Yes! Come on, Ash. We have to!” Eli yelled.

“Loved to but…” she looked down at her dress.

“Damn.” He turned to Spencer. “Spency, you in?”

“I’m in the same boat with Ashley.”

“Females, I swear,” he bemoaned. “Okay, beer pong then?”

Ashley looked to Spencer before saying, “We’re in.”

They went to another one of the many rooms on the ground floor joining other members of Excursion along with Cartel, Gym Class Heroes and Motion City Soundtrack.

Spencer and Ashley teamed up and went on to beat many of the guy teams. They slapped high fives as the liquor began to kick in and they giggled like young girls without a care in the world.

After that was done they simply mixed with the other people in the party. They danced a taking the opportunity to cop an innocent feel.

“Hey Ashy, come with me,” Eli dragged Ashley by the hand while also pulling Spencer along.

They followed him up the winding staircase and down the endless corridor. They finally ended up in a large, dark room Ashley recognized a few people before recognition dawned on her about the purpose of this room. She tried to flee before Spencer could see, but it was too late. Spencer could tell just what type of “recreational activities” were going on.

“Spence, we don’t have to—”

“Is this what you usually do when you go out partying?”

Ashley couldn’t lie, she nodded unable to actually say the words. Spencer didn’t say anything just turned and left the room.

Ashley turned to Eli. “I’m sorry, E, I have to go.”

“Is everything cool?” He asked to her retreating back. Ashley couldn’t worry about him at the moment.

Ashley found Spencer standing right outside the door. “Spence.”

“It’s fine, Ashley. You can stay inside, but I’ll wait here.”

“I don’t want to be in there. Yes, I usually would be…participating, but I don’t think I ever really want to. It’s just something to do. I’d much rather spend time with you.”

Spencer finally looked up at Ashley. “I know I have no right to tell you how to live your life, but for some reason I worry about you. Since the day we met all I’ve ever wanted was for you to be okay.”

Ashley nodded.

“And I want to spend time with you too,” Spencer added.

Ashley finally smiled. “Do you want to go?”

“Yeah, I think I do if that’s alright?”

“It’s fine. Come on.” Ashley turned to walk away coming up short when again Spencer grabbed her hand.

~

They rode back to the hotel in relative silence, Spencer walking Ashley to her door.

“I had so much fun tonight, Ash.”

“Me too.”

Spencer shuffled her feet. “So, um, I guess I’ll see you tomorrow then.”

“Yeah, tomorrow.”

Spencer reluctantly turned away as Ashley let the door close shut. Ashley started for the bedroom door, not getting far before stopping dead in her tracks. Instead she turned back to the door yanking it open. Spencer was already there to greet her and within moments her hands were lost in auburn locks as her lips pressed firmly to Ashley’s.

Ashley staggered back a bit from the force, but eventually she caught on and returned the kiss with equal fervor. Spencer bit down on her bottom lip and was sent into orbit when Ashley opened her mouth so she could slip her tongue inside. Their hot tongues wrapped around each others as Ashley pulled Spencer impossibly closer. Spencer moaned as Ashley sucked on the tip of her tongue before deepening the kiss.

Ashley’s grip tightened on her hips practically bringing their bodies completely flush. Spencer sighed at the feeling of being fully pressed into Ashley. Their tongues continued to do a seductive dance and the only sound that could be heard in the room was the sound of their kissing and labored breaths. Ashley moaned and it sent a chill down Spencer’s spine and straight to her core.

Suddenly Spencer broke the kiss and pulled away, breaking their contact completely.

“I’m sorry,” Ashley breathed.

“No, I am. I didn’t mean to…”

Silence filled the room.

“This is hard,” Spencer said when she finally had a better hold on herself and her libido.

“For me too.”

They stood just looking at each other for long moments. It may have been wrong but it certainly felt right.

“I should go,” Spencer said, finally breaking the silence.

“No, wait,” Ashley urged. “Will you stay with me tonight?”

Spencer looked at her incredulously.

“Just sleep. Nothing else,” she explained. “Hands off, I swear. I just…I don’t want to miss you tonight because when Madison gets back that’s all I’ll be doing.”

Spencer was unable to disagree and after going for a quick shower and change they were both climbing into the King size bed. Ashley tentatively slid close to Spencer placing her head on a deceptively strong shoulder. Spencer wrapped her arms around the rock star and reveled in the opportunity to just hold her.

As for now, being so close was enough.

