Note: Spoiler Alert! Read with caution. 

I think it may be safe to say that I’ve seen every bit of lesbian content, either television or movie, available in the United States. My new found love for British television has made me realize that maybe I should go beyond English speaking nations for my lesbian fix.

So that’s what I’m doing! And let me just say that I am enjoying this a great deal.

 

The Classics

First, let me start by discussing some of the classic American fandoms for those of you who may not know. We have:

Tibette-Tina & Bette
Tibette-Tina & Bette

The L Word

Spashley-Spencer & Ashley
Spashley-Spencer & Ashley

South of Nowhere

Classics That Never Were

Then there are the fandoms of couples that never really were, but boy how we wish and wish. Like :

Cabenson-Olivia & Alex
Cabenson-Olivia & Alex

Law & Order – SVU

Xena & Gabrielle
Xena & Gabrielle

Xena Warrior Princess

I may never be over these two story lines. Xena went off in 2001 and I’m still lamenting the loss.

Note: If anyone needs a Lucy Lawless fix she’s on a couple episodes of the last season of Parks & Recreation and will probably have a bigger roll in the next. Stay tuned!

Newbies

I’d be remiss if I neglected to mention some of the newbies on the block a la:

Emaya-Emily & Maya
Emaya-Emily & Maya

Pretty Little Liars

Calzona-Cali & Arizona
Calzona-Cali & Arizona

Grey’s Anatomy

Though don’t get me started on either one of these couples or I’ll launch into a tirade for hours.

Newbies That Probably Never Will Be

We all can hope and wish but the truth is, ain’t nothing happening with these two. Either way they’re fun to look at and people like me write stories in which they do dirty things to each other, so that’s good enough. I’m talking about:

Rizzles-Rizzoli & Isles
Rizzles-Jane & Maura

Rizzoli & Isles

There are several more that can fall into this category, but these two are the ones I most actively follow.

The World

Now, on to the good stuff, international television! It goes without saying (though I’m clearly about to say it) that a great majority of the international media is allowed to offer a far better quality of gay programming than American media. It saddens me, but with the advent of the wonderful internet I can get my grubby little paws on just about anything. Now that more U.S. states are slowly legalizing gay marriage, its my hope that entertainment media will stop being so afraid of representing homosexuals properly.

UK

I fell in love with British television about, oh…two years ago. Luther, Sherlock, Vexed, Ripper Street, Downton Abbey, Misfits, you name it I’ve seen it. Some of my fav. lezzie fandoms are:

Frankie & Cat
Frankie & Cat

Lip Service

I’m still not sure which ending hurt me more, Lip Service or Los Hombres de Paco (see below). The verdict is still out.

Emily & Naomi
Emily & Naomi

Skins (UK) [The US version is…rubbish]

Sophie & Sian
Sophie & Sian

Coronation Street

Sugar & Kim
Sugar & Kim

Sugar Rush

I know anyone who watches this show is like, “What about Kim and Saint?” While in a practical sense I love Kim and Saint, for entertainment purposes I prefer Kim with Sugar. And I have a thing about first loves (still with mine).

As I said before, I’ve exhausted my U.S. options, as well as my British options, so now I’m scouring the Earth in search of more lesbian content.

International

My absolute favorite (so far and as if you couldn’t tell is) is the Canadian:

Doccubus-Bo & Lauren
Doccubus-Bo & Lauren

Lost Girl

I accidentally discovered this show a year before it caught on the U.S. and started airing here. Finding episodes was super difficult! Then one day, poof its everywhere.

If you’re like me and miss the h-e-double hockey sticks out of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, than you’ll love this show. AND it features real life lesbians. I keep waiting for them to dial back the gay and they actually cranked it up a notch in season three. If you haven’t seen this show, I don’t care what you have to do to see, just SEE IT!

My next favorite from Mexico is:

Mariana y Julia
Mariana y Julia

Las Aparicio

I don’t know what is it about this couple, especially since for a good part of the show they are engaged in a poly-amorous relationship with a man no less! I’m thinking it has A LOT to do with Eréndira Ibarra (yum!) but who knows. This is just a pairing that spoke to me.

Next I visited Germany and fell in love with:

Marbecca-Marlene & Rebecca
Marbecca-Marlene & Rebecca

Verbotene Liebe (Forbidden Love)

And from Spain, I just recently finished:

Pepsi-Pepa & Silvia
Pepsi-Pepa & Silvia

Los Hombres de Paco (Paco’s Men)

Talk about drama! I’ve never known a soap to get away with what Los Hombres does, (i.e. an actual fist fight between Pepa and Silvia!), but boy is it entertaining. Let me just warn anyone who will rush out to watch (they have episodes with English Subs on youtube), besides some slightly racist remarks (that could have been a linguistic miscommunication) this story line ends rather tragically. I like to think myself rather tough, but I was definitely wiping away a few tears. Besides all that, this show is hands down some great entertainment.

These are just a few of my favorites in the U.S. and U.K. I’m still working my way through the int’l stuff. I’ll update as I go.

My flag counter says 83 countries have visited my blog. Tell me what I’m missing! Please and thank you, of course 🙂

