I’m going to try something a little different with these posts and actually give a brief description of the artists/albums/songs and explain exactly what it is that appeals to me. I realize that I’ve been a little curt in dropping some music in your lap and leaving.

Now that I’ve come to realize the err of my ways I’ve also noticed that when it comes to discovering music I’m either really early or pointedly late. That is evident in this volume of What I’m Listening To. However, this is what I’m currently obsessed with, so I thought I’d share.

It may be apparent from these posts that I am a big R&B and Soul fan. If it’s not let me make it clear, I am a BIG R&B and Soul fan. I like a wide variety of music, but what I love and follow is as I before stated.

1. SZA

 

SZA is one of very few females in Kendrick Lamar’s TDE clique. She has released two EPs (links above) so far, with an album slated to be released soon. Her Soundcloud page lists her as “Alternative” and I’m compelled to agree with that classification. Although her voice bares a R&B style, her music is eclectic a la Frank Ocean. SZA offers a melodic voice over unique tracks with truly thought inspiring lyrics.

2. Alex Isley

AlexDaughter and niece to the legendary Isley Brothers, its no wonder that Alex Isley offers R&B in its purest form. Her style definitely bares a familiar old school flavor over almost haunted odes to love, loss, and longing. Her new EP, Dreams In Analog, as well as her previously released Love/Art Memoirs, is certainly worth a listen.

3. Clairy Browne & The Bangin’ Rackettes

Clairy-BrowneNot so much a new group, but they’re certainly new to me. This Australian ensemble released their first album in 2011, but their sound can span generations. Think Joss Stone meets Amy Winehouse. One word can be used to describe Clairy Browne & The Bangin’ Rackettes and that’s cool.

Look for updates to my Writing Music playlist found on the Music page.

