Read, enjoy, comment!


Chapter 26: Well I’ll Be, Part 2

PG


“What are you doing here, Angel?”

“Interrupting apparently,” she smugly replied looking pointedly at Ashley’s unfastened shorts.

Ashley turned away for a moment before returning, “As a matter of fact, you are.”

“I say, Davies, you don’t waste time do you? How many groupies are you up to now?”

Ashley leaned against the wall, narrowing her eyes at the woman she used to love. “She’s no groupie.”

Angel chuckled. “What is she then, your girlfriend?”

Ashley raised her eyebrows.

“Bullshit. You don’t do relationships.”

“That’s what I told you when you said that you wouldn’t go public. I mean it was kind of true at the time, but I was willing to change for you. You threw that away. I can’t say that I’m not a little grateful.”

Angel’s smug grin faltered. “Yeah, well, that was the past. And speaking of the past, I know yours. And I know you’ve never had a steady girlfriend. I’m surprised you were faithful to me as long as you were.”

Ashley stared up at Angel incredulously. “Are you kidding me? Angel, I loved you. I may not have much experience with relationships, but I know what I want. At the time it was you.”

Angel stood to her feet finding the brunettes eyes with her own. “And now?” she asked as she stepped fully into Ashley’s comfort zone.

“And now, not so much.” Ashley stepped away. “Shouldn’t you be home with your husband and child?” Ashley quipped as she retrieved a bottle of water from the mini fridge.

“I left him.”

“You left your husband and new born baby?”

“No, Ash. I left him. There is no baby.”

On a lower floor…

“I have no idea what you’re talking about.”

“Bullshit, Madison, you’ve been trying to get between us for weeks. You even went so far as to use poor Aiden here,” Spencer spat.

“Don’t even try that on me, Spencer. You’re not innocent in any of this.”

“Regardless,” Aiden interjected, “you’re the only one with the means and motive to get Angel here. There’s no way she could know what hotel Ashley is staying in.”

“I know,” Madison mused. “This is a new hotel this year.”

“Exactly. So why’d you do it?”

“Well as much as I’d like to take credit for this, because it is a good idea, I can’t. You have no reason to believe me, but I didn’t call Angel. For the record, I’m thrilled she’s back, but you have to also keep in mind that I’m not the only one that could have potentially gotten into contact with her. As much as you’d like me to be the bad guy, you’re going to have to leave me out of this one. Goodnight.” Madison slammed the door in Spencer and Aiden’s face effectively ending the conversation.

“If she didn’t call Angel, then who did?” Spencer looked up at Aiden at a total loss.

“I have no clue.”

“Well who else was close with Angel besides Ash and Madison.”

Spencer could practically see the light bulb go on above Aiden’s head. “Come on,” he said before dragging her to down the hall.

Back upstairs…

“What do you mean there’s no baby?”

“I lost it seven months in. Went into false labor. Turned out I had an infection. It killed her.”

Ashley was silent.

“Well aren’t you going to say something?”

“Yeah, I’m never having kids,” Ashley muttered.

“Huh?”

“Nothing. I’m just…sorry. So sorry.” Ashley was able to see past her anger and frustration enough to offer Angel, someone who had been so significant in her life, a hug.

“It’s okay. It broke apart my marriage, but it also helped me realize some things.”

Ashley rolled her eyes and stepped away.

“I’m serious, Ash. It made me realize how much I’ve missed you. How much I need you. I needed your comfort so much over the past few months, but I couldn’t bring myself to come crawling back after leaving the way I did.”

“It hurt, but I understood.”

“Yeah, well, it still sucked and I’m sorry. I need you, Ash. That will never change.”

“Well I have changed, Angel. I’m not the same person you knew before you left. I think I may be in love.”

Angel looked at Ashley disbelievingly. “With the blonde?”

Ashley nodded.

“I’ve only been gone six months.”

“I think I fell in love the day I met her.”

Meanwhile….

Aiden knocked on the door with as much force as his knuckles could muster. It was answered after a few long moments.

“Oh my God, Aiden, I knew you felt this way all along,” Simon intoned happily. “But why’d you bring the chick?”

“This isn’t what you think, Si. Where’s Libby?”

Simon stepped aside.

“Why are you two banging on my door at this time of night?” Libby asked, shielding her eyes from the light.

“Did you tell Angel where to find Ashley?” Spencer cut right to the chase.

“Angel’s here?”

“Answer the question, Libs.” Aiden demanded.

“Well I told her she should come, but I never thought she would.”

“Why?” Spencer asked.

“She was going through a rough time. I knew how hurt Ash was when Angel left. It seemed as if they needed each other,” she stated simply.

“So who cares if she ripped out Ash’s heart and left her high and dry?”

“You have no clue what Angel has been through,” Libby said in defense of the red head. “Despite what she may have done to Ash, no one deserves to go through that alone.”

“Did you ever stop to think about the affect this may have on me and Ashley’s relationship?” Spencer spat.

“Relationship? All I’ve seen the past few weeks is you two going back and forth playing games. It wasn’t like that when they were together. It was simple and drama free. I thought maybe I could help them rediscover that.”

Spencer ran her hands through her hair in frustration.

“That wasn’t a decision for you to make,” Aiden interjected.

“Look, what’s done is done. I’m friends with both of them and I thought I could help.” She turned to Spencer. “If you and Ash have such a strong relationship then it will be able to withstand the strain. You say you care about Ashley, then prove it.” Libby’s was the second door to be slammed in their face that night.

A smirking Simon greeted them as he munched on potato chips and enjoyed the show.

Spencer and Aiden would have to regroup and continue this fight another day.


Don’t forget to rate this post at the top of the page!

