Nearing the finish line. Read, enjoy, comment!


Chapter 28: The Beat Goes On

PG-13


Three days. Three long days and Spencer had only gotten the occasional, “thinking of you,” text from Ashley. They were reassuring, but few and far between. Spencer wasn’t sure if she was more hurt or pissed. She was supposed to be Ashley’s girlfriend, yet Ashley had been chauffeuring some other woman around for two city stops.

Aiden tried his hardest to relax the blonde’s mind, but it did little to help. Especially since Ashley wasn’t talking to him either. She seemed to shut everyone out. She got her hair, wardrobe, and makeup done speaking as little as possible to the entire crew. After the show she and Angel would disappear for the rest of the night. That was it until the next day.

Spencer was going crazy thinking about all the possibilities. She pictured Angel re-staking her claim on Ashley’s beautiful body. Spencer felt the rush of insecurity consume her as she pictured Angel caressing and stroking all the curves that were, unfortunately, more familiar to her than Spencer. Angel had a familiarity with Ashley mentally and physically that Spencer didn’t, and that more than anything was what was the most infuriating. She was starting to feel like giving up. If Angel wanted Ashley back and Ashley’s willing to have her, then Spencer was going to let them have each other. Right after she scratched Angel’s eyes outs.

Aiden tapped the blonde on the shoulder as she stared off into space. The seedy bar they’d found had nothing in the way of entertainment. They figured that their friendship had started in a crappy little bar they might as well find the most questionable of haunts to frequent in every city they stopped in. This one was proving to be the worst of the worst.

“Spence?”

She jumped at the sudden intrusion on her thoughts.

“You alright?”

“No, not really, Aiden. You know that,” she replied, annoyance dripping from her tone. She wasn’t really mad at him, just frustrated at her current situation. He was actually quite helpful in this whole little ordeal, be that as it may, she found spending so much time with him was horrible in contrast to time with Ashley.

“Yeah, I know. I wish I could help.”

“You have helped,” she apologized. “You’ve helped a lot. I’m very grateful for that. I just…I dunno…”

“You miss her.”

“Yeah. This just seems so wrong. She’s my girlfriend. I haven’t spoken to her in three days except for these lousy texts. It’s not enough.”

“I know what you mean, but you have to remember that you can’t push.”

“Push? I’m not doing anything. Just sitting around these crappy ass bars pining away for someone who very well may be cheating on me. It’s fucked up!”

The derelict patrons of the bar were starting to notice the pretty, ranting girl.

Aiden put a calming hand on her shoulder. “I know you’re upset, but you have to understand that letting her be is your best option right now. We’ve talked about this. No regrets, remember?”

“I remember.” She motioned to the waitress for another.

Meanwhile…

“I really liked that club we went to last night. We almost got mauled in that place. You really should get more security. I can’t believe you still have Tony on the staff. He almost got you killed a couple years ago. Those girls were all over you. Good thing I was there, huh? We should go out again tonight…”

Ashley too was finding it hard to focus. She didn’t remember Angel being such a chatty Cathy. The woman just wouldn’t shut up. If it wasn’t one thing it was another. She almost never gave Ashley a moment alone. Ashley missed Spencer, but she refused to communicate with her in front of Angel. It wouldn’t be wise to give Angel any more ammunition. She had made it very clear that she wanted Ashley back in spite of her feelings for Spencer. She assumed Spencer was like every other girl in Ashley’s life, easily replaced.

“Are you listening to me?”

“No, not really,” Ashley mumbled. “I’m going to take a shower.”

Angel crept toward Ashley, pressing her body close. “Want some company?”

Ashley felt her senses rush from the bodily contact. It had been a few days since she and Spencer’s semi-intimate encounter and she couldn’t deny missing physical contact. Angel’s perfume wafted over her senses bringing back a flood of emotion she wasn’t prepared to handle. She remembered just how good it used to be to be with Angel. How her lips felt on hers and how her naked body felt wrapped around her own.

“Cat got your tongue?” Angel asked leaning in the capture Ashley’s lips in her own. She roughly sucked her bottom lip between hers as she grabbed the back of Ashley’s neck pulling her closer.

Ashley was lost in the familiar feel of Angel’s tongue in her mouth, rolling around her own. She wasn’t distracted enough, however, to ignore the fact that she wasn’t Spencer. Angel’s kiss was rough and hurried. It was dominant and demanding, much like her personality.

Ashley pushed her away. “Stop.”

“Come on, baby. Don’t act like you don’t want to,” Angel tried.

“No, I don’t. I never asked you to come here, Angel. You’ve been dominating my time for days now and keeping me from someone I care for very much.”

“I haven’t tried very hard to keep you from her, Ash. How much could you possibly want her?”

“I’ve been trying to figure out what you want, why you’re here. You left me so abruptly. Just poof…you were gone.”

“You introduced me to him.”

“He was a decoy! A ploy for the press to lead them away from the truth because you were too afraid to go public with me. Too worried about your family and your precious reputation. Never once did I ever say fall in love and get pregnant. You did that all on your own.”

“I was only with him for you. I had to be with him so much that I eventually lost focus of what it was that I actually wanted. I never meant to hurt you. You have to know that.”

“I don’t know because you’re still hurting me! You don’t care about me.”

“Baby, how could you say that? I’m back. I’m right here. I came back because I couldn’t be without you.”

“Bull shit! You’re back because your baby died and you realized that the grass wasn’t greener in hetero-land. I’m not stupid, Angel.”

“Your right! Okay? You’re right,” Angel deflated.

“What?” Ashley pulled up short fully prepared to go several more rounds with her ex.

“After the baby died everything fell apart. We just didn’t seem to fit the way we used to. I think he blamed me for the baby’s death. He wouldn’t even touch me anymore. He didn’t look at me the same. I began to realize that maybe he didn’t love me as much as he said he did. You would never have done that to me. You would have loved me in spite of that tragedy and beyond. I realized that you had loved me unconditionally and I threw that all away. I couldn’t go another day knowing you were out there in pain and I was the cause of it.”

Ashley drank in all that Angel was saying. Two minutes ago she was ready to dissect the redhead from her life for good. Now, she was more confused than ever.

“What do you want from me, Angel?”

“You. Nothing else.

Back at the bar…

“What now?” Aiden asked.

“We wait, remember?” Spencer said bitterly.

Aiden was pensive for long moments. He hadn’t expected it to take this long. A day or two maybe, but a full week was quickly approaching.

“Maybe we should be a little more proactive, rather than reactive.”

“Come again?”

“Let’s go.” Aiden threw some bills on the bar.

“Where we going?” Spencer staggered to her feet. His sudden burst of energy was directly at odds with her alcohol ridden brain.

“To bed, we’re getting up early to go shopping. Ashley needs to make a decision and we’re going to make it easier for her.


Don’t forget to rate this post at the top of the page!

