Poorly proofed, sorry. The song by Landon Pigg. No copyright infringement intended.


Chapter 33a: The Coffee Shop.
PG


“All right, boys and girls, it’s your main man Elvis Duran here on Z100 and the Morning Zoo. We are very fortunate to have in the studio today the lovely, the talented, and the oh so sexy Ashley Davies!”

Studio applause rang out through the radio speakers as millions of listeners in the Tri-State Area listened.

“We just want to thank you again for joining us for our in studio series. We have 20 mad, mad fans here!”

A horde of tweens erupted in screams and applause.

“No, thank you for having me on such short notice.”

“Well we didn’t have much of a choice. When your producer calls and says Ashley D. wants to be on your show, you don’t take that lightly. Remind me to apologize to Jason Derulo for bumping him.”

“I love Jason, I didn’t want you to bump him.”

“Don’t feel bad for him. He’ll be on tomorrow so make sure you all tune in for that. This is a great week for the show. So Ashley, I hear you’re here for a purpose.”

“That I am, Elvis.”

“Something about a certain young lady that your head over heels for?”

“More than head over heels.”

“Wow!”

All the girls swoon in unison.

“Correct me if I’m wrong, but you do not really do relationships. According to the experts at TMZ,” he began in jest, “you, my dear, have run through some of the best of the best.”

“You can’t believe everything you hear. That’s not totally right.”

“But partially, you heard it here first!” the host announced happily.

Ashley laughed saying, “She’s different. She makes me want to be a better woman.”

“Well that’s beautiful, really. But the question is…can I have your little black book?”

Raucous laughter rang out through the radio speakers.

At the hotel…

“See, Spence? I told you. You can’t leave now!”

“Aiden, have you ever heard of too little, too late? I appreciate this grandiose gesture she’s attempting, but it’s not necessary. It never was. I just wanted her to be honest with me about her feelings. She couldn’t do that. I gave up everything for her.”

“Are you including Madison in that everything? Because we both know that never would have worked out.”

“I could have made it work. But the important point is I rearranged my life for her, turned it upside down. I threw my entire past out in an effort to start a future with her, but when her past shows up she drops me like a bad habit.”

Aiden took a moment to listen to the broadcast.

 “So you have a song, an original piece?”

 “Yep. Never been heard before. I wrote it last night actually.”

“Well I’m anxious to hear it. I know all of you out there are too. We’re going to head to a commercial break and then we will be back with the world premier of Ashley Davies new song! Don’t touch that dial. Elvis and the Morning Zoo on Z100.”

“Look, I know she fucked up, but you have to understand her past. At least listen to the song.”

“Have I not been patient enough?” Spencer asked as she continued to gather the last of her things.

“Yes, you’ve been very patient, but don’t you think you should hear her out?”

“I’ve been screaming at the top of my lungs for her to talk to me. You tried, even Madison tried, if only to make her job easier. Now when she decides to open up I should drop everything? Not happening.”

Placing her last bag by the door, Spencer turned back to Aiden saying, “I’m leaving. The new make-up artist will be here tomorrow morning. The tour is almost over anyway. You wont even miss me… And neither will she.”

Spencer felt the way Aiden looked, but she did her best to not let on. She needed to finally be strong for herself.

“I think you’re making a mistake, but I understand. And your wrong, I will miss you and so will she.”

Spencer gave Aiden a loving hug and kiss on the cheek. He was almost like a brother after all they had shared. She knew she’d miss him like one.

“Bye, Aiden. Keep in touch. There are hundreds of dive bars in LA. We’ll hit them all next time you’re in town.”

He smiled promising, “I’ll be there.”

She offered him one last embrace then turned to leave.

Spencer stopped by Madison’s room to return her hotel key and insure her things were sent back to LA.

“What are you doing here?”

“Madison, you couldn’t possibly still be mad at me.”

“No, no, I’m not mad, but where are you going?”

“Home. I told you that last night. I’m taking early leave. The label is sending over a new artist. Were you listening to anything I said last night?”

Last night…

Madison answered her door not knowing who to expect. When you were managing the domestic tour of rock goddess Ashley Davies, the possibilities were endless.

“Aiden?”

“Hey.”

“What brings you here?”

“Nothing, just wanted to say hello.”

 She stared at him incredulously for a moment.

“Look, Madison, I know things with us kind of went array there at the end, but we can still be friends.”

Curiosity got the best of her and she stepped aside and let him in. Holding on to grudges was starting to wear. She certainly would not invite wrinkles.

One hour later…

“Oh God, Aiden, right there.”

Her cell phone rang, slicing through the silence.

“You have to be kidding me.”

“Don’t answer it,” Aiden implored.

“I have to, it might be important.”

“Okay, but I’m not stopping.”

Madison giggled as Aiden continued to lavish her neck with nips and kisses.

“He-hello?”

“Madison? Are you okay?”

“Spencer? Ye-yeah…I’m fine.”

Madison pulled the phone away from her ear as a moan escaped her lips. “Sorry. What’s up?”

“I’m just calling to tell you I’m leaving the tour…”

Madison let the phone fall from her ear as Aiden continued to assault her with kisses…

Today…

“Of course I was listening, Spencer, but aren’t you listening to the radio?”

Spencer could hear the radio playing in Madison’s room.

“Yes, I was, but I need to get to the airport. So here is my room key, the early leave forms and my bags are in Aiden’s room for mailing. I think that’s it so I’m heading out now.”

“Spencer wait. You can’t just leave her like this.”

“She left me a long time ago, Mads. Later.”

With that Spencer got on the elevator and left.

“And we’re back! Elvis Duran and the Z100 Morning Zoo. If your just tuning in we have Ashley Davies here with us in the studio and she has a special treat for one special lady.”

Spencer rolled her eyes as her taxi drove through Time Square. Was everyone in the entire city listening?

“Ashley, are you ready to get your girl back?”

“More than ready.”

“Cool. Just want to send a special shout out to Apple and iTunes. They’re streaming a live Podcast of this performance as we speak. Technology, man, putting us out of business. We are broadcasting live from our studios straight into your homes and offices. How cool is that?”

“No pressure,” Ashley laughed charmingly.

The taxi crawled to a stand still in the bumper-to-bumper midtown traffic. The driver swore under his breath. It wasn’t English, but she seconded the emotion. She was now a captive audience.

“Okay so, Ashley, what’s your girls name?”

“For the sake of her privacy lets just call her S.”

“I respect that. So lets get on with. Ladies and Gentlemen, the world premier of an Ashley Davies original. Take it away.”

The cab inched its way through Time Square stopping again at 42nd street. Spencer looked up and couldn’t believe it when she gazed directly at Ashley. The large, pixilated screen did nothing to hide neither Ashley’s beauty nor her fear, her apprehension. It was common knowledge that from the very start Ashley had never been nervous about performing. Even as a child she threw herself into the spotlight, eager to follow in her father’s footsteps. Now, though, Ashley was mirroring a scared little girl.

Her fingers began to strum the guitar and Spencer watched on the screen as she listened on the radio.

I think that possibly, maybe I’m falling for you.
Yes there’s a chance that I’ve fallen quite hard over you.
I’ve seen the paths that your eyes wander down,
I want to come too.

I think that possibly, maybe I’m falling for you

No one understands me, quite like you do,
Through all of the shadowy corners of me.

Spencer listened in wonderment at the beautiful notes and delicate words. Ashley was a rocker, she listened to everything, but her performances were loud and in your face. She was crass and confident. It’s what made her so popular, so likable as an artist. This song, in contrast, was soft and lilting almost. It was sweet and pleasant.

I never knew just what it was about this old coffee shop
I love so much.
All of the while, I never knew.

I never knew just what it was about this old coffee shop
I love so much.
All of the while, I never knew.

She tried to sustain her resolve as she watched the emotions play on Ashley’s face and listened to them tumble across her lips. The entire city was enthralled by Ashley and her song. Spencer couldn’t believe that she was the one being serenaded in front of the entire city, the entire country, hell the world.

The last cords fell away to nothing and Spencer was left with tears in her eyes. The studio audience was applauding, the people on the street were mesmerized, even the cab driver was looking a bit misty.

“I don’t know if you’re going to make your flight lady. This traffic to Queens isn’t moving.”

Spencer’s mind reeled. She couldn’t get to JFK even if she wanted to.

“What about the Z100 studio’s? Can you get me there?”

“It’s across town. What do you need to get there for?”

“That’s none of your business.”

“I won’t let you stalk Ashley. She’s a sweet girl and in love.”

Spencer felt like she was in the twilight zone.

“S, the one she’s talking about?”

He turned to look at her.

“It’s me,” Spencer revealed. “So if you can get me to Z100 as soon as possible there’s an extra fifty in it for you.”

“Now that I can do.”

The cab looked behind him as he reversed so he could turn down the nearest avenue.

She smiled and impatiently waited to get there.


Don’t forget to rate this post at the top of the page!

